Racers Tee It Up Monday At NCAA Golf In Lubbock
Lubbock Regional Home Page I Pairings I Live Scoring I The Rawls Course I Photo Gallery

The Murray State Racers got their first chance to get on the Rawls Course at Texas Tech Sunday for their Practice around at the NCAA women's golf regional in Lubbock, Texas.
Representing the Ohio Valley Conference as its champion, the Racers get going Monday morning in the first of three days of competition.
The Racers enter the NCAA's with a lot of confidence and momentum following their OVC Championship win in April. Having already set the MSU record with six wins in the 2016-17 season, the Racers enter the NCAA event with four-straight victories.
This event in Lubbock marks the first time Coach Velvet Milkman has taken a team to Texas and this event marks the farthest westward event in program history.
The Racers will be tested here unlike any tournament this season. Steady wind and 99 bunkers are what give the Rawls Course its teeth. The wind will surely play a factor as the 54-hole event starts Monday. With consistent wind every day, the Rawls Course plays shorter than its length of 6,593 yards at times (the longest course MSU has played this season) because of good roll in the fairways. However, the holes that play into the wind are tougher because of it. The Rawls Course features rare back-to-back par-5 holes. The 17th hole plays 587 yards and the 18th is 528 yards.
None of the MSU starting five played when the Racers last visited an NCAA regional in 2014 in Tallahassee.
Iowa State and Oregon State will be Murray State's playing partners (starting from the 10th tee) when the event gets underway Monday. Here are the tee times for Monday. All times are Central Time.
Round 1 Tee Times
9:00 a.m. - MJ Kamin (ISU), Hannah Swanson (OSU), Raeysha Surendran (MSU)35149
9:10 a.m. - Amelia Grohn (ISU), Nicole Schroeder (OSU), Anna Moore  (MSU)
9:20 a.m. - Nattapan Siritrai (ISU), Susie Cavanagh (OSU), Linette Holmslykke  (MSU)
9:30 a.m. - Chayanit Wangmahaporn (ISU), Elyse Smidinger (OSU), Lucila Puente Rodriguez de Austria  (MSU)
9:40 a.m. - Celia Barquin Arozamena, Olivia Benzin (OSU), Moa Folke (MSU)
Iowa State is making its eighth-straight visit to an NCAA regional after finishing second at the Big-12 Championship. Oregon State placed eighth at the Pac-12 Championship. The Racers are in the NCAA for the fourth time and the first since 2014.
To advance from the regional event, the Racers must improve on their No. 15 seed and finish in the top-6 of the 18-team field.
2017 NCAA Women's Golf – Lubbock Regional
Hosted by Texas Tech University
Rawls Course - Lubbock, Texas
Seed & Participating Teams
 1 University of California, Los Angeles (Pac-12 Conference)
 2 Arizona State University
 3 Furman University (Southern Conference)
 4 Kent State University (Mid-American Conference)
 5 University of Texas at Austin (Big 12 Conference)
 6 University of Oklahoma
 7 Brigham Young University
 8 San Diego State University
 9 Texas Tech University
10 Texas Christian University
11 University of Nevada, Las Vegas (Mountain West Conference)
12 University of Oregon
13 Iowa State University
14 Oregon State University
15 Murray State University (Ohio Valley Conference)
16 Georgetown University (Big East Conference)
17 University of Richmond (Patriot League)
18 Sacred Heart University (Northeast Conference)
Participating Individuals
Caroline Nistrup-Louisiana State University
Malene Krolboll Hansen-Coastal Carolina University
Lois Kaye Go-Boston College
Alivia Brown-Washington State University
Jakeishya Le-University of California, Riverside
Katrina Prendergast-Colorado State University
Tournament Makeup
There are four regional sites and a total of 72 teams and 24 individuals competing. Each regional features 18 teams and six individuals. From each of these four regionals, the low six teams and the low three individuals not on those teams advance to the national championships (May 19-24) at Rich Harvest Farms, in Sugar Grove, Illinois. The other three NCAA regionals are Columbus, Ohio (Ohio State's Scarlet Course), Athens, Ga. (University of Georgia Course) and Albuquerque, N.M. (University of New Mexico Championship Course).

Print Friendly Version