Moa Folke
Dave Winder-Murray State Athletics

Women's Golf

Racers Increase Lead - Folke Fires 30 On Shoals Back Nine

Round Two Scores I Round Three Tee TimesLive Scoring I OVC Women's Golf Championship Home I OVC ProgramThe Shoals GC I MSU OVC Championship History

The Murray State women's golf team fired an even-par 288 to push a one shot lead to an eight-shot advantage after 36 holes of the 2018 Ohio Valley Conference Women's Golf Championship in Muscle Shoals, Alabama. The Racers try for back-to-back championships and the 11th in program history Wednesday when they begin the final round at 9:40 a.m.
The Racers head into the final round with a total score of 307-288=595, ahead of second place Jacksonville State at 308-295=603 and Eastern Kentucky at 312-299=611. Austin Peay was in fourth place at 620 and Morehead State was in fifth at 630.
Murray State's Moa Folke fired a second round 3-under-par 69 that featured an impressive 30 on the par-36 back nine. She had six birdies in nine holes with four-straight from the 14th hole to the 17th. Folke is the medalist leader on scores of 73-69=142, she's two shots ahead of JSU's Valentina Giraldo who had scores of 76-68=144. Folke is going for
MSU's Lucila Puente Rodriguez de Austria is in third place on scores 72-76=148, while Raeshya Surendran is in fourth place on rounds of 77-72=149. Linette Holmslykke had scores of 85-73=158 and moved up 18 spots to 16th place. Anna Moore jumped eight spots to 29th place on scores of 88-74=162.
The Racers have played with Jacksonville State and Eastern Kentucky in the first three rounds and they will be paired again in Wednesday's final round. MSU's first shot will be taken by Anna Moore at 9:40 a.m.
Round 2 Notes
The Racers' 288 is the third lowest score in OVC Championship history, just two shots off the 286 scores that the Racers and Eastern Kentucky carded in 2017.
286, Murray State, 2017 (R1)
286, Eastern Kentucky, 2017 (R1)
288, Murray State, 2018 (Rd2)
290, Murray State, 2017 (R2)
290, Murray State, 2017 (R3)
291, Morehead State, 2011 (R3)
291, Jacksonville State, 2017 (R3)
292, Morehead State, 2011 (R1)
Folke is trying to become the first to win three-straight individual titles at the OVC Championship and the second to win three times. Eastern Kentucky's Beverly Brockman was the first three-time winner with victories in 1994, 1996 and 1997. The Racers have eight medalist winners at the OVC Championship including Jenny Daag (1998 & 1999), Cuyler Hedley (2003), Lee Anne Pace (2004), Nikki Orazine (2005), Delaney Howson (2014) and Moa Folke (2016 & 2017).
The Racers are looking for their 11th Ohio Valley Conference title and are trying for back-to-back championships after they won it last year in 2017. MSU has won back-to-back titles three times.
The Murray State women's golf program has an outstanding tradition that began when Head Coach Velvet Milkman was hired to start the program in 1993. After their title a year ago, MSU has posted 10 OVC Championship victories in 1997, 1998, 1999, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2009, 2010, and 2014 and 2017. Milkman has 11 OVC Coach of the Year honors.
In the 24 previous OVC Championships, the Racers have had an individual finish in fifth place or better every time. MSU has 18 individual finishes of third place or better.
The 2018 marks the 25th staging the OVC Women's Golf Championship.
The Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail at The Shoals is home to two 18-hole championship courses and lies between the Wheeler and Wilson dams on the Tennessee River. The OVC is playing the tree-lined Schoolmaster Course for the first time (named for President Woodrow Wilson who was responsible for getting Wilson Dam built and was also known as "The Schoolmaster" of politics). The OVC men's championship is next week at the Shoals and they will pay the Fighting Joe course.
For the OVC Women's Championship, the course will be par 72 with a yardage of 6,043.
2018 OVC Women's Golf Championship
The Shoals GC – Schoolmaster Course
Muscle Shoals, Ala.
Round 2 Scores
1 Murray State 307 307
1 Murray State 307 288 595
1 Moa Folke (2) 73 69 142
3 Lucila Puente Rodriguez de Austria (1) 72 76 148
T4 Raeysha Surendran (5) 77 72 149
T16 Linette Holmslykke (3) 85 73 158
T29 Anna Moore (4) 88 74 162
Team Scores
1 Murray State 307 288 595 +19
2 Jacksonville State 308 295 603 +27
T3 Eastern Kentucky 312 299 611 +35
T3 Austin Peay 312 308 620 +44
6 Morehead State 316 314 630 +54
5 Tennessee Tech 313 319 632 +56
7 Belmont 319 316 635 +59
8 Eastern Illinois 351 336 687 +111
9 Tennessee State 362 351 713 +137
Print Friendly Version

Players Mentioned